Škaljari is welknown Kotor’s suburb the second by the number of inhabitants in the Municipality of Kotor
Škaljari is welknown Kotor’s suburb the second by the number of inhabitants in the Municipality of Kotor. Once an industrial settlement, up until 1st May 1987, when the industry moved to the Industrial Zone in Grbalj, Škaljari is nowadays a sports and medical centre of Kotor. It is known by its cemetery (dopuniti tekst).
The oldest preserved monument of culture is the two-storeyed church of St. Domnius from the 13th or the beginning of the 14th century.
In Škaljari, there is a memorial to the sailors who were shot dead as the leaders of the Uprising of Sailors of the Austro-Hungarian Navy in 1918.
During the World War II, Škaljari was known as partisans’ base. Specifically, the first victims of the fascists’ terror fell in Škaljari on 18th October 1941.
From Škaljari towards Njeguši, there is an old automobile road, known for its 25 serpentines, which offer fabulous view of Kotor Bay.
At the crossroads called Trojica one can choose among three roads: one going toward Mount Vrmac, one towards the Austro-Hungarian fortress called “Goražde”, Mirac and Njeguši, and one going towards Grbalj Plain, and each of them leads to the places which have their particularities and charm.