Prcanj is situated on the eastern side of the Vrmac hill, opposite Dobrota. It acquired its present appearance during the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. Among its oldest cultural monuments are the church of St. Toma situated in the upper part of the village, erected in the 9th century. Today, this church is not active. Near this church there is the church of St. Ivan, erected in 1221.
Particularly interesting is the mansion called „Tre sorrelle“ (three sisters), a unique edifice built in the 15th century. This mansion was the property of the noble family Buca. There is a legend connected to this mansion about a tragic love of three sisters who were in love with the same sailor.
Prcanj reached the highest peak economically during the 18th century. It was given the rank of a maritime town in 17th century, which came with a lot of benefits.
A naval captain, originally from Perast was the first person from the Balkans who circumnavigated the world with his ship called „Splendido“.
The most attractive monument is the parish church which is the among the largest structures on this Adriatic coast. The construction of the church started in 1789, and it was finished in 1908. It was dedicated to the birth of the Virgin Mary. The church was built in the renaissance-baroque style. It holds the paintings of local artists like Tomo Rosandic, Milo Milunovic, etc…
Also situated in this village is a medical institution „Vrmac“ specializing in respiratory and allergy treatments.