This is the most densely populated neighborhood of the Kotor municipality. It stretches out from Kotor in the south, to the Ljuta river in the north, where there is the 7 km long northern city boundary. This settlement is mentioned for the first time in 1260, in an inscription of the Archive of Kotor, as Dabrathum, and later as Dobrotha.
Among many cultural monuments and remains from the Illyrian and Roman periods, we must mention the church of St. Ilija, erected in the 12th century, situated nearby the Institute of Marine Biology.
The church of St. Matej is also situated in Dobrota. This church was built in 1670, on the foundations of a former medieval church. It was built in baroque style. The most valuable works of art in this church are two marble altars and the famous Giovanni Bellini’s painting “Madona with child”.
The church of St. Eustahije was erected in 1773. This church was built in baroque style, containing altars that belonged to the famous families from Dobrota. This church holds the paintings of artists like Paolo Verovese, Frano Potenza, Carlo Dalci and other well-known artists. Particularly interesting is a collection of 52 pieces of lacework dating from the 17th and 18th century.
There are several other small churches in Ljuta which are no longer active.
Dobrota reached its height of glory in the 17th and 19th century. In that time Dobrota had the greatest number of ships in the Boka Bay.
Dobrota was given the rank of maritime town in 1717, which does not mean that before that time it did not have a maritime tradition. During that time many illustrious mansions of Dobrota families Dabinovic, Tripkovic, Ivanovic, Radonicic, etc. were built.